Sasha Graham’s Tarot Card a Day Blog – The Queen of Swords

The Queen of Swords

 

The poor Queen of Swords is often explained away in Tarot books as a cold widower. For the record – I am taking that definition and throwing it right out the window! Talk about putting a woman down because she is strong and intimidating!

This is Swords we are taking about. Swords represent the intellect, reason and cutting through the bullshit. The Queen of Swords is an intellectual giant and a woman unafraid to wield her power.

The suit of Swords is a tough one and you can’t journey through them without coming through the other side massively stronger! The Queen of Swords is a woman with a past! She has taken everything she’s ever endured, been challenged with and uses it to her advantage.

Let’s open a few closets shall we?

Do you have any ghosts thumping around, eager to get out? Do you think we are all haunted my something from our past?

I happen to be a massive optimist. Best case scenario in life is that every problem you’ve faced is a lesson learned. Each challenge is a stepping stone to the fabulous person who is reading these words right now.

When the Queen of Swords appears in a reading for you – think of the greatest lessons you’ve learned. She may have popped up to remind you of your strengths. You have reserves of greatness inside you that are aching to get out. The Queen of Swords is very direct and to the point. Don’t be afraid to access this same power for yourself!

2 Comments

  1. dovelove said,

    August 20, 2008 at 3:00 pm

    Recently came upon your blog and have been enjoying your take on the cards. You’re awesome 🙂

    I strongly resonate with this queen as well. I wrote a bit about her last December. There was a fun emphasis on her sense of humor. I had asked the cards to show me a card that represented a lot of laughter. I cut the deck without even shuffling (as I often do) and there she was. Totally threw me for a loop, heh Like I said in my post, I had invariably viewed her as strong, tough, unemotional…laughter didn’t seem to go with her. But the wonderful learntarot.com confirmed it. I like her much more now, and more accepting of her energy within me. Of course she has an awesome sense of humor, it goes hand-in-hand with intelligence, maturity, and the confidence that comes from a depth of life experience and “hard knocks.”

    Here’s a link to that post I made on her, if you’d like to read it. It’s a bit lengthy.

    http://dovelove.wordpress.com/2007/12/18/quickie-fun-with-the-queen-of-swords/

    Dove

  2. tarotgirl said,

    August 20, 2008 at 7:49 pm

    Thanks Dovelove. I’ll check your post out!
    I really adore the Queen of Swords.
    I’d venture to guess her wit would be in the vein of Oscar Wilde or David Sedaris. A wicked humor, sharp tongue and no prisoners!


Leave a Reply

